How do you get rid of an embarrassing Gmail account you made when you were a teenager? Too many unwanted emails? Or even worse, has someone taken over your account? You might also want to move to a different email provider so you can try out more emailing services.
Gmail is the most used email service in the world, with more than 4.1 billion users. Gmail makes it easy for anyone to make an account, and it’s likely that you’ve made one (or more) that you want to get rid of. No matter why you want to get rid of your Gmail account, we’ve got you covered. In this article, we’ll show you how to do it.
Things To Consider Before Deleting
Here are five things you should think about before you delete your Gmail account:
1. Deleting your Gmail account is irreversible
When you delete your account, it’s over, just like when a shot leaves a bow. Once you agree, your email ID, emails and account data will disappear. On the same Gmail ID, you won’t be able to send or receive email. In this case, neither you nor anyone else will be able to use the same ID again.
When you need to get back into your Gmail account, time is of the essence. You can use account restore to get your account back if you deleted it a few days ago. If it’s been a long time, you should be ready to let go.
2. Deleting a Gmail account has nothing to do with your Google account
You can still use other Google services, like Meet, Calendar, Gdrive, Docs, Sheets, and more, that are linked to your account.
3. No access to other accounts
You probably used your Gmail ID to sign in or sign up for more than one app or service, like Netflix or Amazon Prime. If you delete your account, you might never be able to use these sites again.
4. Zero options to reset passwords
If you can’t remember the password for any account you made with your Gmail account, it’s gone. If you don’t have the original Gmail account, you can’t ask for or get back lost passwords.
5. Download your emails
You can get a copy of your emails by downloading or exporting them through an email tool or Google Takeout. If you use IMAP, emails will only be saved on your machine if they are already there. Once you delete your Gmail account, any emails you’ve saved on the computer or in a folder you’ve synced with it will be gone.
Here’s how to close your account for good on your computer, Android, or iPhone.
Read More: How to Get Around Windows 11 Needs?
We’ve probably told you everything you wanted to know about how to delete your Gmail account. Now it’s easy to close accounts you no longer need. You might be wondering, “Where will the emails sent to my deleted Gmail ID go?”
When someone sends you an email, or an email to an email address that no longer exists, the sender will get a message that the email couldn’t be sent. Your best bet would be to give your business friends a different email address.